21 days trial

Day 4

Today is Friday. This is usually the day where my steam for cooking fades and I end up eating out. It’s also the day I usually treat myself to a doughnut and sugary drink for breakfast (yeah I know, with the doughnuts again). This morning I woke up not hungry at all again. Actually it took me quite a while to get out of bed. I didn’t start moving until 7 which didn’t leave me a whole lot of time to make breakfast. Thankfully I didn’t have to pack a lunch since I have a lunch meeting for work. For breakfast, I ended up with a tall coffee. I really wanted whole milk or heavy cream but the only thing on the table was half and half and I didn’t feel like waiting for the other stuff. SBUX coffee is gross. H&H made it tolerable.

10:30 and I’m still going strong. I’m a bit hungry but I think by the time I have lunch I will be the perfect amount of hungry.

Lunch
Lunch today was a meeting with a new board member. We went to a Japanese restaurant. Not bad, but I was really hoping for just some basic stir fry. I ended up eating beef teriyaki. I’m pretty sure the sauce was made with some kind of sugar. Oh well, I guess I can’t win them all. I didn’t really eat very much of it, and ended up having more of the rice and miso soup than I was intending.

In the past whenever I’ve tried to change my diet, this is usually the point where things start to go south for me. It’s a few days in, I stop paying so much attention. I feel like I’ve done so well that now I deserve a “treat.” I’m really trying to get away from that idea of junk food being treats. I feel like if I keep thinking that way then junk food will always have that reward appeal. Instead, I want the healthy food and the amazing way it makes me feel to be the reward.

It doesn’t help that today is Friday and I’m heading into the weekend- the place where “treats” are everywhere and so much free time tend to have me reaching for the pint of ice cream. My boyfriend is coming to town, too. Eating and cooking are a really big part of our relationship.  I feel like if I can make it through this weekend relatively cleanly then I will have crossed a huge bridge.

Dinner
Thankfully I had enough fixins in the house for a tasty scramble. We had lots of veggies- eggplant, onion, peppers, garlic. We also had some bacon and sausage on the side. I’m glad we stayed in to eat. First, I didn’t have to try and navigate a restaurant menu. It’s just easier at this point to avoid the whole going out to eat situation, and after my less than stellar lunch I was glad to have a clean choice. Second, I’m pretty broke right now and I really need to spend less money and be more thrifty.

After we ate, the boyfriend was jonesing for some frozen fruit. I had a mix of stuff that had been in the freezer for a while. It was getting pretty frosty and wasn’t really hitting the spot for dear boyfriend. I decided to whip it into a smoothie with some full fat Greek yogurt. I really expected that it would be bland and not nearly sweet enough. I was wrong- it was the perfect consistency and flavor. Really hit the spot! I might have to think about that as a breakfast option in the future, especially if I can drink it on the go!

A quick late night (well, 10 pm) trip to the grocery store and $50 unnecessary dollars spent later, we were home surrounded by snacks galore. The boyfriend had his own munchies- crackers, guacamole, a couple of salads. I opted for a sweet potato with a bit of cheese on top. They were yummy, and I felt good for not going in a direction I didn’t really want to go.

Now, just keeping my fingers crossed that I can keep this up through the weekend. I don’t have any plans as of yet except for maybe hiking on Saturday. Luckily I’ll be going with a friend who is well aware of what I’m doing and she eats pretty similarly. Honestly, I have such a hard time talking about this stuff with my friends. Most of them are thin or in great shape. Despite how awesome I feel, I’m still very much overweight. This is where a bit of patience and dedication comes in!

Leave a Reply

