21 days trial

Day 12

Almost 2 weeks in and feeling groovy!

This weekend couldn’t have gotten off to a better start. To give a bit of context, last year for my birthday I signed up for a half marathon training program at the local running store. While the training didn’t go as expected, I did make friends with a wonderful group of ladies who I adore even a year later. A handful of them are training for another half marathon. I am opting out of the race to focus on improving my health, but I still want to connect with them as much as possible. This morning they were heading to a beautiful park on the lake to do an easy 4 miles. I decided to join them. I skipped the run and instead did a mix of walking and sprints. I also found a bench and did some tricep dips and inclined pushups. The scenery was beautiful and the workout felt awesome.

Breakfast
Afterward, we headed over to the home of one of the gals for a late post-workout breakfast. I was a bit nervous about navigating the food choices given my newly self imposed restrictions. I knew going into it, pancakes were on the menu. I’ve never been a big fan but would occasionally eat them when offered. I brought strawberries and Greek yogurt as my contribution to the feast. My nervousness was totally misplaced as they are some of the most loving and accepting people I know. I explained to them what I was doing and got nothing but support in return. I felt so loved and the breakfast was pretty great.

Tonight I have another social situation to navigate- a good friend’s 40th birthday party. ]There will be some friends there I haven’t seen in a while so I’m going to focus on connecting with them instead of focusing on the food- a huge shift in mindset for me. I’m also baking some sweet potato brownies as a safe indulgence should I feel up to it. I found the recipe at www.paleomg.com.I think I may have indulged in too many brownie bits while I was plating them up. Felt a bit sick.

Dinner
I decided to eat before I went to the party so I wouldn’t be starving and eat a bunch of unhealthy stuff. I mixed the rest of the roast with sauteed mushrooms and leeks. Yum! I also ate the last bit of the asiago cheese I bought the other day.

The party was great. I wasn’t too tempted by any of the goodies there. In fact, I was so full I didn’t even want to eat the brownies I made! I did sample some gluten free pizza my friend bought. I think it’s best for me to stay away from that stuff. It was so good and tempting that I just started shovelling piece after piece in my mouth. The truth is, I don’t even really know what was in it. Just because it’s gluten free doesn’t mean it’s healthy. And really, the overall point of this is to avoid prepackaged processed food. Oh well, ce la vie.

I had a blast at the party catching up with old friends. Even better, it felt great to come up from an event like this and not feel sick, fat and miserable vowing to eat healthier the next day. I also wasn’t drunk, which helped considerably. Normally in social situations where the wine is free flowing I’ll get a bit tipsy to help calm my social anxieties. I did have one glass of champagne to toast the birthday girl and then stuck with water the rest of the night. I can’t even express what a dramatic shift this is for me…and it feels great!

Leave a Reply

