21 days trial

Day 16

I’m not even sure if today counts as part of the 21 days, and I’m ok with it.

Breakfast
I started out the day having breakfast with my mentor. He’s a great guy. We met at a diner type restaurant. I had a scramble with sausage and cheese, tomato slices on the side. It was ok. A lot of times I go out to breakfast and have high hopes, but honestly I think my homemade omelets are much better.

I felt pretty solid all day- energetic, stable mood, not constantly thinking about food.

Lunch
Today I ate some leftover soup from a while back. It was a basic soup of beef broth, celery, cauliflower, and onions. Not bad. It was frozen for a while so it definitely could use some flavor added back in.

So far so good, right?

Dinner
This is where things got a bit off track. I went over to my friend’s house for dinner. There were 5 of us total. All great people, all incredibly fit. Now, I know weight isn’t the only marker of good health (or even a guarantee that you’re healthy) but sometimes I do feel like a blimp hanging out with these people.

The meal started out promising- flank steak with salad. Nice. Well, first my friend tossed the salad with a bottled dressing with soy and canola oils. Oh well. I wasn’t too worried about it, but it didn’t really taste that great so I didn’t eat much.

I was really excited about the steak. Then I found out it had been marinated in soy sauce. Hmm…again, not ideal but it was pretty yummy.

There were also roasted potatoes coated in olive oil and garlic. Now, I’m not really afraid of potatoes but they aren’t my first choice. They were awesome!

Lastly, there was desert. Berry crisp. Oast, berries, sugar. I didn’t turn it down.

So, although dinner wasn’t completely clean, it could have been much worse. I decided that the company of good friends was more important tonight than being super nitpicky about particular ingredients.

Now, this could be a slippery slope. One night out turns into two turns into me completely abandoning my clean eating efforts. But, at this point I feel like I have a good enough handle on things that I can be right back on track tomorrow.

So, with that I am off to bed. Tomorrow is a new day and a new opportunity to treat myself well.

2 thoughts on “Day 16

Leave a Reply

