21 days trial

Day 20

Well, today is day 20. I’m almost to the end of the 21 day self-imposed paleo/primal/clean eating/whatever you want to call it challenge. I have to admit, today involved absolutely 0 clean eating.

I’ve been dealing with some major stress and today I just didn’t have the energy to think about what I was eating.

My dad was diagnosed with stage III stomach and esophageal cancer in December. He went through chemotherapy and radiation. After his last PET scan in mid-April, the doctors said he didn’t have any active cancer cells. They decided to go ahead and do surgery on Thursday to remove the tumor. It’s a pretty invasive surgery. They had to cut out part of his stomach and esophagus, and reroute things on the inside. He has to have a feeding tube for a while. It seemed as if everything had gone well.

Tonight I got a call from my older sister. Apparently something was leaking from one of the many tubes coming out of his body and he was going to have to have surgery again. Needless to say, I was on pins and needles all night waiting to hear how it went.

I spoke to my mom this morning. I guess the doctors couldn’t find a leak. It may have healed on its own overnight. They resealed everything. For now he’s on a ventilator and still has all kinds of tubes coming out of him. I’m so glad both of my sisters were there with my mom. I hate being so far away from my family right now (they’re in Michigan, I’m in Seattle).

Even though I’ve been trying to lose weight for almost my entire life, by dad’s diagnosis has really kicked my efforts into high gear. I’ve done research, and I feel like diet has a huge influence on cancer. Now, I may get cancer no matter what I do, but certainly I’m not going to make it that easy.

Lunch
So back to the eating (and this will be totally counter to what I said in the paragraph above). Today I just wanted comfort food. I went for two of my standbys- tortilla chips and M&Ms. I also added on one of my all time favorites, the Bolthouse Farms Mocha Protein drink. I used to have one of those drinks everyday. Surprisingly, none of it tasted good. I had a handful each of the M&Ms and tortilla chips. Meh, I was done. I drank the entire drink, but it didn’t taste very good. Perhaps my taste buds are finally shifting?

After indulging and then taking a short nap, I took a trip to the park. It was in the 70s today and the mountains were out in full view. I spent some time sitting in the park, soaking up the sun. It was the perfect way to spend an afternoon.

Dinner
I had enough of my junk food. I wanted real food. I opted for some meatballs and homemade sauce. Yummy!

I took in an evening flick with a friend. The Avengers. It was AWESOME! So much eye candy to look at 🙂 There were also several women wearing form fitting jumpsuits. It inspired me to get my ass in gear on the exercise. I want to be fit and town and ready to kick ass! I’ve set my alarm nice and early for tomorrow so I get get up and workout. Buns of steel- bring it on!

Leave a Reply

