21 days trial

Reflection

So what do days 22 and 23 look like after a self-imposed 21 day clean eating challenge? Honestly? Pretty much the same as the 21 days before them. I guess maybe there is something to that whole “21 days to change a habit business.”

Occasionally  during the 21 days I had thought maybe I would just go crazy and splurge on all of my missed junk foods on day 22. I dreamt of tacos, ice cream, bowls of candy. When it came down to it, none of those things sounded that appealing when the time came. I

did feel a new sense of freedom that I could go ahead and eat whatever I wanted, but really I truly wanted to keep eating the way I had been for the past 3 weeks.

So ,how do I think the 21 day challenge went? Overall, much better than I expected. While it wasn’t perfect, the last 3 weeks have been the cleanest I’ve eaten…ever. I feel better than I’ve felt in a long time (maybe ever?).  I would say the only downside was that there were some days that I just didn’t feel like cooking and wanted something quick to eat. Before the start of this that would have been tortilla chips and queso, or a frozen pizza and a pint of ice cream. I think if I hadn’t been posting everyday then I probably would have just said “screw it” and eaten the garbage…and then I would have felt bad (physically and mentally), vowing to start over fresh tomorrow.

I did lose a few pounds and a few inches all over. I think the first 7 pounds that fell off effortlessly were water weight. The body fat is definitely coming off a bit slower. I think I was being a bit unrealistic because I had expected more dramatic results, but 224 to 215 in 21 days isn’t too shabby. I can even now fit into one pant size smaller!

What happens now? I’ve been thinking about that. I am of course going to keep eating this way. I’ve already been thinking of ways that I can clean it up even more (I bit less dairy, a few more leafy greens?).

I also want to keep blogging because I find it therapeutic. I don’t want this to be just a blog of what I eat everyday, though. That would be interesting to exactly no one (not even me). I also don’t want this blog to just be about weight loss. Even though that is one of my goals, I’m shooting for overall health.

There is definitely no shortage of people in the blogosphere writing about paleo/primal eating. I’m going to take some time and think about what niche I want to fill in that world. I love reading blogs about food, health, nutrition, and fitness. I also love to read about people’s journeys to improved health, so maybe that will be the direction I head. I’ll need to take some time and think about it.

More to come…stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

