cooking · love · nourish

Doughnuts

Hi my name is Amy and I’m a sugar-holic. It’s been 24 hours since my last doughnut.

Seriously, what is it about those little orbs of sugary, glazey, sprinkled goodness?

I haven’t written anything for a while. Part of it is business, part laziness, and part lack of inspiration. But I’m back today because I’ve been thinking a lot about my dad. He’s been battling stomach cancer since December and isn’t doing very well. His diagnosis was really the thing that threw me into action regarding my own health. I went to the doctor for a physical, did my 21 day challenge, starting walking all over the place. But somewhere along the way I lost a bit of motivation…hence the doughnuts.

For the last couple of weeks I’ve had a doughnut for breakfast almost every morning. Each morning I make some vague and loose promise to myself about this being my last one and tomorrow I’ll get things back on track. Half the time I don’t even want to the doughnut. It’s more habit than craving.

Now, I know that labelling foods as “good” and “bad” can be dangerous, leading to feelings of guilt and shame that continue the cycle of eating crap. But really, doughnuts are the equivalent of a culinary one night stand. Sure, you might have that initial rush of excitement and dopamine/serotonin/whatever…but in the cold, harsh light of day you’re left feeling hollow and let down. At least, that’s what I imagine a one night stand would be like.

Really, there is nothing of nutritional value in a doughnut. And if my goals are to live as nourished a life as possible (as evidenced by my blog name…and my future career plans) than really, eating a doughnut for breakfast everyday isn’t getting me anywhere closer to my goals, now is it? And if the stubborn part of me wants to prove that a paleo/primal way of eating really is best, then wouldn’t it be in my best interest to eat that way and let the results speak for themselves?

With my father’s health getting worse it has really made me take a look at my sugar eating habits. I have read numerous studies (which I’m too lazy to look up and link here) about sugar essentially feeding cancer…and that it’s addictive. Not a great combination. Now, even if I never let a drop of sugar touch my lips ever again I may still get cancer. But really, I’m not going to let it happen that easy.

So what did I eat today?

Breakfast
A doughnut (yeah, yeah I know)

Lunch
Baked Sweet Potato with butter and cheese

Snacks
Pork skins and fizzy water (Hey, I was going into the store for m&ms so I’m calling this a big win)
Rosemary Asiago Cheese
Yogurt mixed with frozen berries and cocoa powder

Dinner
bok choy salad with garlic sauce, bacon and avocado

And tomorrow is another day…

Leave a Reply

