Uncategorized

Sugar Addiction?

I’ve been struggling with the idea of sugar addiction lately. Not so much about whether or not it’s a real thing (I totally believe it is) but more whether or not I actually have it. I’m not so sure lately.

Sure, I’ve always had a sweet tooth and yes I turn to sugary foods in times of stress/loneliness/sadness/happiness/any-kind-of-emotionness…so maybe that makes me an addict? Or, am I using the term “addiction” as something to hide behind. It was like I had an excuse for every time I caved and ate some m&ms. As I’m reaching into the bag- ahh it’s just too hard to stop because I’m addicted.

Or is it because I really never tried to do anything different?

I’m not sure what the answer is yet. I’m wondering if a change in mindset will help me finally put down the candy. I recently read the book “Brain Over Binge” and that’s what started me thinking about this. She mostly talks about how she overcame her binging behavior by consciously letting her higher human brain over power her lower animal brain. She explains it much better than I do. I’ve been thinking that the mindset she used could help me change my eating behaviors, such as eating way too much sugar.

I’ve still got some work to do on this subject, so there will be more to come on this for sure.

In the meantime, I made these sweet potato wedges from PaleOMG.com and they were awesome: http://paleomg.com/grilled-chili-lime-sweet-potato-wedges/

Leave a Reply

