Uncategorized

Budget Shmudget?

 

Ok, I should give myself a little more credit than what the title implies.

stack of cash
I wish I had this much money!

A couple of posts ago I wrote about my plan to follow a cash budget in an effort to stop the hemorrhaging of money out of my bank account. And it’s gone ok. Not perfect, but ok.

I knew it would be a process to get used to thinking about every dollar I spend and learning to tell myself no. (On a somewhat ironic note, my mom always tells me that my first word was “no”…apparently I quickly dropped it from my vocabulary!)

So, it’s only been two weeks, one pay cycle. I didn’t really run out of money until yesterday, just 2 days before the next payday. I had a couple of unexpected things come up, and one big expected expense. The expected one was a plane ticket to fly to Michigan for my sister’s wedding. The upside to that is I paid for it in cash and not with my credit card- yay!

The first unexpected expense was a ticket for jaywalking. $56!!! Yikes! I know I was in the wrong, and it was a dangerous intersection, so I can’t really complain about that. The part that really bugs me is that I was one of four people crossing against the light and I was the only one that got the ticket. Not an excuse, I know…but still. Needless to say, I’ve been an extremely law-abiding citizen since.

The second was a trip to see my boyfriend who lives about 2 hours away. It’s one of the hazards of living far apart (which will hopefully change soon, a post for another day).

So, when all is said and done, I stayed mostly on budget and now have a better sense of where my money is going. Tomorrow is payday which means starting again.

It’s been an exciting challenge to figure out how to eat healthy on a budget. I’m grappling with questions like where should a splurge and where can I save? And are nonlocal things like organic avocados worth it? Is there a better source?

I’m toying with the idea of tracking my purchases for a couple of weeks to have a visual representation of what I’m buying…we’ll see how ambitious I get.

 

2 thoughts on “Budget Shmudget?

Leave a Reply

