21 days trial · love · nourish

Primal Challenge Day 10

Or, what to do when you feel like you’ve failed again.

I could have made up a whole different menu for today but, alas, I’m honest to a fault. The truth is there was nothing primal about my day today.

Breakfast: a donut and a sugary mocha drink…yeah.

Lunch: This was pretty solid- beef bourguignon. Yummy!

Snacks: Oh, let’s see- a danish, chocolate candies, I’m sure there were others.

Dinner: fast food tacos with curly fries and a shake.

All day I’d been making excuses (I’m stressed. There’s traffic. I’m bored.) Whatever. When I got home, I decided to wash down my frustration with a couple of hard ciders. Halfway through my second cider I read this quote on the blog Easy Paleo: “If you’re sick of starting over, you have to stop quitting.” Apparently she stole it from somewhere else.

Anyway, that quote couldn’t have shown up at a better time for me. I tend to be a fatalistic thinker- once one thing goes wrong, everything is just the worst. Clearly that line of thinking isn’t getting me anywhere and every Monday I find myself “starting over” on the healthy eating wagon.

That’s how I was feeling today. I figured I would forget about it for the rest of the week and then start fresh on Monday. Nope- I’ve decided I’m going to plow through and keep going. I’m tired of starting over and thinking that Monday is going to be different- that I’m suddenly going to be perfect.

Not this time. Every time I make a decision about off is an opportunity to make a healthier choice. There’s nothing magical about Mondays. And every day that I decide to ignore my health and keep doing what I’ve been doing puts me one day further from my  goals.

So there it is. Onward and upward.

2 thoughts on “Primal Challenge Day 10

Leave a Reply

