21 days trial

Primal Challenge Day 12

Haha- I finally looked at a list of all my posts and realized I had two day 6s…so today is officially day 12, not day 11. Oops 🙂

I woke up happy this morning. It’s been a while since that’s happened to me. The day was rainy and chilly, and I almost didn’t want to get out of bed. Not because I was sad, but because I was so snuggly warm.

I celebrated the first day of fall by going on a hike with two of my girlfriends. The hike was short- 4 miles round trip, but it was definitely a steep incline! I’m glad I was with two others so that they could talk on the way up while I huffed and puffed behind them! We peaked at a rocky overlook that I’m sure on a clear day would be absolutely beautiful looking out over the mountains and the forest. But today, we showed up to find a wall of clouds. It was breathtakingly beautiful in it’s own way- like being on the edge of the world!

Now for the food…

Breakfast:
One egg scrambled with the last of the beef bourguignon, washed down with a cup of detox tea.

Lunch:
Bacon and ham frittata with a side salad. YUM!

EPIC NAP

Dinner:
Bibb lettuce topped with radishes, cherry tomatoes, avocado, bacon, cotija cheese, and garlic sauce.

Dessert:
1/2 apple sauteed in butter, topped with cheese and cinnamon.

Today was a great day and I felt awesome- good food, good friends, and awesome scenery. I felt relaxed and happy all day.

I’ve also been thinking a lot about morning and evening rituals. I’ve read the advice often (and was told again by the NTP I spoke to) to use an evening ritual to wind down before bed. I’ve often poopooed the advice even though I am not known for having great sleep. I toss and turn, wake up frequently, and have WILD dreams. I almost never wake up feeling refreshed.

So now my new goal is to practice an evening ritual- turn off the computer and TV, drink a cup of tea and wind down before I go to bed.

Zoe
Hey, wake up. It’s time to eat!

As much as I love my crazy dreams, I would like to wake up refreshed and ready to tackle the day. I would also like to eventually get to the point where I wake up at the right time without my alarm. My sweet kitty is trying to help me reach this goal by jumping on my head every morning. She’s so helpful!

I tried my hand at a new morning ritual today. I think, if I keep it up, it will be a nice way to start the day. After I dutifully fed Zoe, I made myself a cup of tea along with my breakfast and listened to a podcast while I ate. It was nice and relaxing. Usually during the work week I wake up with enough time to feed the cat, hop in the shower, get dressed and go! I think a slower start to the day will be much nicer! And hey, if I can put a good pre-bed ritual in place, all the better!

Leave a Reply

