Uncategorized

$49 Challenge

7 days, 21 meals, maybe some snacks…all for $7 a day.

That is my challenge for the next seven days starting tomorrow. I’m taking the challenge as my community project for my Nutritional Therapy certification program.

I’m pretty excited about this- and a bit nervous. Usually I just go to the grocery store, get what I want, and go home. I’ve made vague attempts at setting a budget, but it usually goes out the window as soon as I see something I like. It will be good for me (and my bank account) to take on this challenge.

My goal is to create a week of healthy meals on a budget. The United Way of King County uses the amount of $7 per day during their Hunger Action Week (which happened in March). That’s the amount that a single person in King County would receive in food assistance.

The reason I chose this as my community project is because I’ve often heard people say that eating healthy is too expensive. Unfortunately, cheap, unhealthy, highly processed foods CAN be much cheaper that veggies and pastured meats. But I truly believe that eating healthy doesn’t have to break the bank and is entirely possible to do on a budget.

The first day of shopping is under my belt, and I think I did ok. Here’s what I got:

  • Bones for broth – $1.49
  • Pastured sausages from a local farm. 4 for $8.50groceries
  • 1 lb of asparagus – $2.15
  • 4 stalks of broccoli – $1.95
  • 1 bunch of green onions – $0.69
  • 1 bunch of radishes – $0.89
  • 1 white onion (organic) – $1.06
  • 1 lb of white mushrooms – $1.99
  • 1 yellow onion (organic)- $0.52
  • 1 bag of spinach (organic)- $2.08
  • 1/2 dozen local cage free eggs- $1.79
  • 1/2 lb grass-fed stir fry beef- $4.77

Total spent: $28.33

Total left: $20.67

My plan is to add posts throughout the week to share my meals, random things I’m learning in school, and tips to creating healthy meals on a budget.

I’ve got a plan, a blog, and a class requirement…I’m ready to go!

For fun, here’s a picture of my cat. She’s adorable.

Zoe
Hey, wake up. It’s time to eat!

 

Leave a Reply

