Uncategorized

$49 Challenge Day 4 & Supplementation

Now that I know some people are reading this (Hi Kat & Teresa!!) I’m suddenly feeling the need to be clever…umm….

Ok, still going strong. Day 4 meals:

Breakfast: egg with spinach, asparagus, cooked in coconut oil and spices (Sorry no pictures. My breakfasts all look the same…maybe tomorrow I’ll put a little bow on my eggs or something.)

Soup!
Soup!

Lunch: Soup! Something new. Broth, broccoli, onion, mushrooms, and spices

Dinner: Last night’s dinner was so yummy I decided to have it again- sausage, spaghetti squash, asparagus, cooked in butter and spices.

 To supplement or not to supplement?

 

The idea of supplementation is something I’ve struggled with for a while. Some say that if your diet is healthy you shouldn’t need to add supplements. There is some truth to this. Others say that the way our food is raised and the conditions of the soil leave us all nutrient deficient no matter what we do. There is also some truth in that.

 We talk a lot about supplements in my nutritional therapy program, and it took me awhile that supplementation may be a necessary part of modern life. The caveat is that the supplements must be derived from quality sources- think plants and animals. Really, I’ve come to realize that good supplements are just concentrated food stuffs.

 I feel that supplementation can be a good thing, but one shouldn’t just start chowing down on the first multivitamin that crosses your path. What the body seeks most of all is balance, and so many vitamins and minerals work in synergy with each other. Too much of one (copper) can drive down another (zinc).

 At the end of the day, real whole foods are best. Therapeutic supplementation may be needed to bring the body back into balance.

 So, when deciding if and when to supplement, it’s best to determine what your body needs. There are many ways you can do this. Hair mineral tests, blood work, functional evaluation. I also have some handy nutritional assessments. If you’re interested, shoot me an email and I’ll hook you up. If you’re in the Seattle area, come on by and I’ll poke your liver for free 🙂 (Out of context that sounds creepy, but I swear, it’s a legit thing- right Kat?)

 What do I take? Well, after a great functional evaluation from a classmate we figured out I needed some hydrochloric acid support. Now, here’s where I made up my own rules. Instead of trying an HCL supplement, I opted to go with shot of apple cider vinegar before each meal. In addition to that, I take vitamin D (hey, I live in Seattle…’nuff said), and zinc. I also have some fermented cod liver oil on the way. I’m giving this a go because it has a good balance of vitamin A and Omega 3 fatty acids. Plus I haven’t added liver to my diet yet, so there ya go. When I remember, I also add a spoonful of real sauerkraut to spruce up the old gut flora.

So when asked the question of should you supplement, my educated opinion is maybe…probably…I don’t know.

2 thoughts on “$49 Challenge Day 4 & Supplementation

Leave a Reply

