Uncategorized

Motivation, where ya at?

I’ve been thinking a lot about the idea of motivation lately. And as usually happens, whenever something is on my mind, the universe throws as many related things at me as it can.

Like today when I put on one of my favorite podcasts for the walk home. On the Paleo Lifestyle and Fitness Podcast, Jason Seib interviewed J. Stanton from gnolls.org. He talked about a lot of things, but one that stuck with me was the idea of positive vs. negative motivation (or maybe it was internal/external…can’t remember.)

For example, a negative motivation would be “I don’t want to be overweight anymore.”

A positive motivation would be “I want to be able to do at least one pull up.”

And that’s where I am. I’m replacing my negative motivations of what I don’t want with new positive motivations of what I do want. And coincidentally, what I want is to be able to do a pull up.

The pull up is often seen as the quintessential fitness move. It is also a thorn in the side of students everywhere forced to do the Presidential Physical Fitness test.

Ugh, it happened every year and every year I HATED it. A reading test…bring it on! Anything physical was pure torture for me.

But, I am older now and much wiser. I like the idea of being in good enough shape to lift my own body weight in case I should ever find myself, say, dangling from a cliff.

So, that’s the plan. I am going to do at least one pull up by my 31st birthday.

And now that I’ve put it out there in the world I have to do it, right?

Stay tuned 🙂

One thought on “Motivation, where ya at?

Leave a Reply

