Uncategorized

Sugar Detox Day 20 Check-In

As you know, I am doing the Balanced Bites 21 Day Sugar Detox. I haven’t been posting as regularly as I had planned, but I am happy to say that I have made it to day 20!

The process has been very interesting for me. I have to say it was much easier this time around, and I think that has all to do with my mindset. I’ve read in several places (none of which I can remember right now) that simply believing you’ll achieve a goal exponentially increases the likelihood that you’ll actually achieve it. That sounds like a pretty good deal to me!

I will confess that yesterday I had a brownie. I’m not going to lie, it was one of the best brownies I’ve ever had- chocolatey, gooey, overall awesome. Honestly, I don’t really have a good reason for why I ate it other than it was there. Oh man, did I feel it. I just felt bleh after that and had a low grade headache for most of the day. But I did end up going for a run that night and it was one of the best runs I’ve had in a while.

Something else I experienced over the last couple of weeks is extreme fatigue for a few days (around days 10-13). Thankfully it was a weekend and I was able to spend the weekend snoozing on the couch. I’m still not sure what happened there- not enough carbs? Too many carbs, thus leaving my body unable to become fat adapted? I’m not sure, but it’s something I’m paying attention to going forward.

Now, for the best part of all. I went shopping today, which is usually as enjoyable for me as being frisked at the airport. But I suddenly hated all of my clothes, so there ya have it. Plus, since I’ve cut out all of the sugar and grains I’ve been feeling better in my body and less…puffy.

And…drumroll…..I’m down one size in pants! 

new pants
Check out that booty tooch…Tyra would be so proud.

Honestly, I had figured my fashion future held nothing but leggings and dresses (which, I will continue to wear all the time, because it’s like public appropriate jammies).  But on whim, I tried on the pants. I have to say, my booty is looking pretty fierce.

Even though the detox technically ends tomorrow, I think I’m going to keep going and see what happens. I mean, why not? Maybe I’ll be buying new pants again next month!

6 thoughts on “Sugar Detox Day 20 Check-In

  1. Amy! I don’t know how I missed this post. Awesome job on the sugar detox. You are an inspiration! And, you look FANTASTIC! Seriously, way to go. You have so much to be proud of 🙂

Leave a Reply

