Uncategorized

Turning anger into action

Someone close to me is currently losing the battle with cancer….and I’m mad.

I’m mad that this person didn’t take better care of themselves.

I’m mad that I’m far away and there’s nothing I can do to help.

I’m mad that the government and big food have literally been feeding us a load of crap and now cancer is as common as cell phones and people barely bat an eye when it’s brought up.

Now, I know there are as many causes of cancer as their are kinds, and I don’t mean to imply that I know even one fraction of one iota of what there is to know about the topic. What I do know is that most of the crap people put in and on their bodies, along with the crazy stressed out sedentary lifestyles people are leading definitely isn’t helping.

What makes me really mad is I feel like so many people have just given up. I’ve heard too many people proclaim that since their going to probably get cancer and die anyway, they may as well enjoy themselves know and eat whatever the hell they want. I get it, I’ve been there.

But really??? Because if you’ve ever actually watched someone die from cancer (even from afar) you may change your tune. There is no way in hell you’re going to convince me that those few seconds of enjoyment one might get from a Big Mac are worth the amount of suffering someone with cancer goes through. No. Fucking. Way.

All of this anger, however justified, is definitely not good for my adrenal glands. And I can literally feel the toxic, negative energy seeping out of my pores like garlic when I’ve had a bit too much.

So I’m channeling all of this anger into action. I hope this anger can be put to good use by making me more thoughtful about what I put in and on my body, how I spend my time, who I spend it with, and mostly the kind of energy I put out into the world.

Sure, I may do all this and get cancer anyway. But if I do, I can at least say that I did EVERYTHING within my power to prevent it. And you best believe that if I’m ever faced with that diagnosis, I won’t just sit back and take it. I will fight like hell to beat it.

Now, this doesn’t mean that I’ll never let another piece of “junk” food pass my lips, or spend an evening sitting around watching Hulu. Rather, I plan to be more intentional about it- do a gut check and ask “What value is this bringing to my life?”

The 3 pm cookie I bought because I was bored? Not adding much value. I’d be better served going for a walk or calling a friend. A decadent flourless chocolate cake share with a friend I haven’t seen in a while? You bet your ass I’m having some.

Spending every night after work laying on the couch watching Master Chef reruns? Probably not so great. Every once in a while, taking a break to watch a movie or a show I love? Absolutely worth it to recharge.

Even just writing this, I am starting to feel better. I can feel some of the anger lifting off of my as I type.

Thanks to whoever reads this whole thing. Sorry for swearing…sometimes you just gotta sat fuck.

Leave a Reply

