21 days trial · cooking

21 Day Sugar Detox Review Part 2

Just in case you missed it, here is the link to my original review of Diana Sanfilippo’s 21 21DSD 1 (1)Day Sugar Detox (print version). Seriously, go buy it right now…I’ll wait!

….

Welcome back!

I decided to tackle another recipe from the book- mayo. Oh, how I LOVE mayo! Yet, it’s nearly impossible to find a store-bought version that doesn’t have some kind of canola or soy oil, or list of other scary ingredients. Immediately upon receiving this book, I sniffed out the mayo recipe and hopped to!

The end product was interesting. It was definitely tasty but wasn’t quite the mayo taste I’m used to. I think the macadamia nut oil gave it a very strong nutty flavor. It’s also possible that since I’ve never had any kind of mayo that wasn’t full of weird stuff, I have no idea what real mayo is supposed to taste like.

WP_20131124_005WP_20131124_004

Like I said, it was still very good and I’ll keep it in the rotation. Perhaps adjusting the ingredients for less macadamia and more olive oil would make it more mayo-y (trademark!)? But that’s what I love most about cookbooks and recipes. They give us a great foundation to start from, and then you can let your imagination run wild! If someone out there has a great mayo recipe to share, I’m all ears!

There are so many recipes in the book that I am dying to try. I’ll share them here as I make them!

 

Leave a Reply

